Closes at
See all

Milano-Sanremo: many top riders are expected at the start in Pavia


The 115th edition of the Classicissima will start from Pavia, where the presentation of the teams will take place on Friday at 4.30 p.m., and will end in via Roma. Mathieu Van der Poel, winner of the 2023 edition, Tadej Pogacar, dominator of the Strade Bianche, and Filippo Ganna, runner-up in 2023, headline the entry list. Former winners Kristoff (2014), Démare (2016), Kwiatkowski (2017), Alaphilippe (2019), Stuyven (2021) and Mohoric (2022) are expected to participate.

The entry list for the 115th edition of the Milano-Sanremo presented by Crédit Agricole, the first of the five Monument Classics, scheduled on Saturday 16th March, has been unveiled. Many top riders are expected at the start in Pavia, starting with the winner of the 2023 edition Mathieu Van der Poel and the dominator of the Strade Bianche, as well as 4th on the finish line in Via Roma twelve months ago, Tadej Pogacar. Alongside them are many prestigious names, starting with former winners Alexander Kristoff (2014), Arnaud Démare (2016), Michal Kwiatkowski (2017), Julian Alaphilippe (2019), Jasper Stuyven (2021) and Matej Mohoric (2022), and continuing with wordl class riders such as Jonathan Milan, winner of two stages and the Maglia Ciclamino at Tirreno-Adriatico, Mads Pedersen, six wins so far in the season, Caleb Ewan, twice runner-up in the Classicissima, Cristophe Laporte, reigning European champion, Jasper Philipsen, winner of a stage at Tirreno-Adriatico, Filippo Ganna, runner-up in 2023, and Arnaud De Lie, ten wins in 2023.

Click here to download the provisional entry list.

Teams Presentation

Friday 15 March at 16:30 at Piazza della Vittoria in Pavia will be held the presentation of the teams that will give fans the opportunity to meet the great protagonists of the Classicissima.

A mixed zone will also be set up near the stage for media who wish to interview the riders.

The Route of the Milano-Sanremo 2024

The 2024 Milano-Sanremo presented by Crédit Agricole starts in Pavia and, after covering around 44 km of flat roads astride the Ticino River, it merges back onto the classic route in Casteggio. From there, the race once again takes the route that has connected Milan to the Riviera di Ponente for over 110 years, through Ovada and the Passo del Turchino, dropping into Genoa in Voltri. From there, it rolls westwards, by the sea, following the Statale Aurelia through Varazze, Savona, Albenga (avoiding the Manie climb, which only featured in the route from 2008 to 2013) and Imperia. In San Lorenzo al Mare, past the classic sequence of the Capi (Mele, Cervo and Berta), the peloton will negotiate the two climbs that have entered the race route in recent decades: the Cipressa (1982) and the Poggio di Sanremo (1961). The Cipressa is just over 5.6 km long with a gradient of 4.1%. The highly testing descent leads back down to SS 1 Aurelia.


Final kilometres

The ascent of Poggio di Sanremo begins with 9 km remaining to the finish (3.7 km, average gradient less than 4%, maximum 8% in the segment before getting to the top of the climb). The road is slightly narrower, with 4 hairpin turns in the first 2 km. The descent is testing, on asphalt switchback roads, narrow at points and with twists and turns as far as the junction with SS 1 Aurelia. The final part of the descent enters urban Sanremo. The last 2 km are on long, straight urban roads. There is a left-hand bend on a roundabout 850 m from the finish line. The last bend, leading into the home straight on the Via Roma, is 750 m from the finish line.

Click here to discover all the details of the route. 

Follow us
on social media
# MilanoSanremo
top sponsor
official partners
official suppliers